You are here

Our History

The Sikeston/Bootheel Area United Way has worked diligently to meet the needs of our communities since August 21, 1963, which is when the “United Fund of Sikeston, Inc.” was formed. The office was located at 111 North Scott Street in Sikeston, Missouri. Founding officers were Fielding Potashnick, LeRoy Parrenter, and Samuel Harbin. The Board of Directors consisted of 21 members – Fielding Potashnick, LeRoy Parrenter, Samuel Harbin, Kenneth Smitten, Robert Miller, Dick Watkins, Melford Taylor, Walter Rayburn, J. T. Patmor, Dorothy Matthews, Julia Sikes, Lyle McLaughlin, Hershel Tyer, Don Grant, Tony Statler, Joel Montgomery, Allen Hubbard, Bill Scarbrough, Loretta Porter, John Moll, and Eugene Redfern.

On April 25, 2007, our name was officially changed from the United Fund of Sikeston, Inc., to the Sikeston/Bootheel Area United Way, Inc.

Our organization was originally created to serve the Scott County, Missouri, community. Over time, the organization has expanded to serve the five-county area it serves today including Scott, New Madrid, Mississippi, Stoddard, and Butler counties. Today, the Sikeston/Bootheel Area United Way works with 19 partner agencies and serves 200,000 people in our five-county area annually.

Join us as we celebrate 55 years of service to the community throughout 2018!!